Web forum is in read-only mode. Login as active registered customer for write access
  Forum Search   New Posts New Posts

Pre-sales question

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Kraemer Guenter View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 197
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kraemer Guenter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Pre-sales question
    Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 10:03am
When I purchase and install the mCL components, which are for OSX, and use them on the form, what will happen when I compile for Win32/64? Will I be able to compile for Windows (reason is debugging is better than using VM with OSX)?
Back to Top
Pieter Scheldeman View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3392
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pieter Scheldeman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 10:05am
Hi, 

Yes you should be able to compile for each target, but the components will of course only work on macOS.
Back to Top
Kraemer Guenter View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 197
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kraemer Guenter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 10:09am
Thank you for the quick reply.
What means "will of course only work on macOS"? Does it mean that for example a mCL button will not be shown on the form, or I cant click them when target is Windows? I just dont want to spend the money and then cant develop on Windows, because I cant test the GUI.
Back to Top
Pieter Scheldeman View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3392
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pieter Scheldeman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 10:13am
Hi, 

The mCL components are wrappers around native macOS components that are only visible at runtime. At designtime, there is a placeholder to show where the native component will be rendered. In a Win32 application, there will be no component rendered at runtime, and also no button to be clicked on.
Back to Top
Kraemer Guenter View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 197
Post Options Post Options   Quote Kraemer Guenter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 10:26am
Ah ok, thanks, then I wont be able to use them, because I need to fully develop and debug on Windows, and only the final product will run on Mac.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down