Web forum is in read-only mode. Login as active registered customer for write access
  Forum Search   New Posts New Posts

TMSFMXRicheditor on Android works?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
kuhl klaus View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2014
Posts: 34
Post Options Post Options   Quote kuhl klaus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: TMSFMXRicheditor on Android works?
    Posted: 09 Jun 2016 at 4:42pm
Hy

working with Delphi Berlin,
PackFiremonkey 3.4.1.0
TMSFMXRicheditor V: 1.2.18.0
on Android 6.0.1 Nexus 5

The TMSFMXRicheditor does not visualize correct linefeeds.
I tested pure Form and dropped TMSFMXRicheditor on it align = client and added Platform Android.

If I write "first line" and press "Enter" it looks like the cursor moves just half line down.
If I use "Backspace" to delete letters of a word, the last letter is deleted - ok. 
 But pressing "Backspace" again it doubles the word. ?!?

The same effect with the demo program
 c:\Users\Public\Documents\tmssoftware\TMS Pack for FireMonkey Demos\RichEditor\RichEditor.dproj

With Windows it works fine.

Is TMSFMXRicheditor not working on Android?




Back to Top
Pieter Scheldeman View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3392
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pieter Scheldeman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2016 at 1:13pm
Hi, 

We have been able to reproduce this and will further investigate this here as soon as possible.
Back to Top
kuhl klaus View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2014
Posts: 34
Post Options Post Options   Quote kuhl klaus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2016 at 11:01am
The Update 3.4.5.1 of "TMS Pack for Firemonkey" did not solve the problem.
When can I expect to use a TMS Editor with android?
Back to Top
Pieter Scheldeman View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3392
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pieter Scheldeman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2016 at 11:54am
Hi, 

We have investigated this here and have unfortunately detected an issue in a combination Berlin / Android 6.0. This issue is also reproducible with TMemo and has already been reported to Embarcadero. The issue should be solved by Embarcadero, but a possible workaround is to install a swift keyboard as mentioned in the following QC report:

Back to Top
kuhl klaus View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2014
Posts: 34
Post Options Post Options   Quote kuhl klaus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2016 at 12:32pm
To follow the link, I need a JIRA account.
How can I get a JIRA account or
how can I read the article somewhere else?
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2016 at 12:35pm
About the account, please contact Embarcadero for this.

I have taken a screenshot for your convenience.


Edited by Bruno Fierens - 01 Jul 2016 at 12:35pm
Back to Top
kuhl klaus View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2014
Posts: 34
Post Options Post Options   Quote kuhl klaus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jul 2016 at 12:30pm
thank you.
just I cannot see, how the work araound should work:
"but a possible workaround is to install a swift keyboard as mentioned in the following QC report:"
Back to Top
Pieter Scheldeman View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3392
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pieter Scheldeman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jul 2016 at 12:36pm
It seems to be an issue with the default Google keyboard in Android. A workaround is to install the Swift keyboard and use this instead, which will properly handle text input in TMemo and TTMSFMXRichEditor
Back to Top
kuhl klaus View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2014
Posts: 34
Post Options Post Options   Quote kuhl klaus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Sep 2016 at 4:33pm
Also with update of Delphi Berlin 10.1 it still does not work!

How can I let the user just input a simple text?

Does anyone have a work around?

Back to Top
Pieter Scheldeman View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3392
Post Options Post Options   Quote Pieter Scheldeman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Sep 2016 at 4:34pm
Hi, 

Unfortunately this issue is still open, it's unclear when Embarcadero will take the time to fix this issue.
As a workaround, use the Swift keyboard until a fix is available.
Back to Top
Villeneuve Christiane View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote Villeneuve Christiane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2019 at 6:01pm
Folow up on this bug still present with TMSFMXRichEditor 1.2.24.4
Back to Top
Villeneuve Christiane View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Post Options Post Options   Quote Villeneuve Christiane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2019 at 6:02pm
Follow up on this bug its still present in TMSFMCRichEditor version 1.2.24.4 and android.
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2019 at 7:10pm
With newer Delphi releases the problem got worse unfortunately.
Embarcadero removed keyboard handling methods from the FMX base class interfaces and these methods were essential for the keyboard handling we need in Android. In short, it is not longer possible to handle individual keystrokes from the control.
Workarounds for this are very complex and although we spent already hours and hours on research, we haven't found an adequate replacement for the removed interfaces by Embarcadero yet.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down