FlexCelReport Xlsx over 65536 rows

Hi all,

I'm fairly new with using FlexCel.  I have a pretty simple scenario: 

We're currently using the FlexCelReport object, we invoke the AddTable() method to add a DataTable with over 65536 rows.  If I call the Run method, it throws an exception indicating that I cannot run over 65536 rows.  Since I have the source, I modified the Run method to take in a XlsAdapter to save with the XlsxFormat inside the FlexCelReport::Run(stream,stream) method.  Whenever I do that, it corrupts the Excel sheet.

Can someone point me to the right direction?

Thanks.

Hi Robert,

I've got your email in my queue to answer, I haven't been able yet since it requires that we make you a new kind of trial, and we are trying to make a new release for monday, and I haven't got the time to look at it.

About this particular question, I am not sure on what you modified in the sources, but it is just impossible to have an xls file with more than 65.536 rows. We can't do it, Excel can't do it. And the reason is simple, rows in xls are stored using 2 bytes, and in 2 bytes you can store at most 65536 values. If you try to store a bigger value into those 2 bytes, you'll just overflow the data. Same with columns, they are saved in 1 byte, so you can have at most 256 columns. 65536 rows and 256 columns is a limitation in the xls file format, there is nothing anyone can do about it. If you try to save an xls file in Excel 2013/10/7 with more than 65536 rows, it won't let you either.

So to save over 65536 rows, you need to save as xlsx. Sadly from what I read in the mail you have an older version without xlsx support, so you need the trial for that. And I am no sure why, you are getting the trial message, which doesn't let you run the report. I'll repeat what I said in my last mail. You shouldn't get any trial message when running inside the debugger. That is, when pressing F5 or Run in Visual studio. (not if you press "ctrl F5" or "run without debugging").