Web forum is in read-only mode. Login as active registered customer for write access
  Forum Search   New Posts New Posts

Faulty Meta Data creation when merging models

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Calford Dalton View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote Calford Dalton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Faulty Meta Data creation when merging models
    Posted: 14 Sep 2010 at 7:36pm
When attempting to merge two different models into a single group, I started to get things like this in the script

  TAXABLE T_YESNO DEFAULT 'N'
    CHECK (CHECK((VALUE IS NULL) OR (VALUE IN ('N','Y')))),

instead of   TAXABLE T_YESNO DEFAULT 'N'
     CHECK((VALUE IS NULL) OR (VALUE IN ('N','Y'))),

This is true both in domain definitions and in raw data type definitions.    This makes the generated scripts useless.
Back to Top
Ricardo View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ricardo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2010 at 2:35pm
Could you tell us what Database management system are you using for generating scripts at Data Modeler?

--
Ricardo Samila
TMS Software Team
http://www.tmssoftware.com
Back to Top
Calford Dalton View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Post Options Post Options   Quote Calford Dalton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2010 at 2:46pm
I use Firebird for all my database work.
I create a new model based on importing the structure from one existing database.
I create a second new model based upon importing the structure from a second database.
I then select merge to open the dgp file that was saved from the first database to import it into the second database.
I have found this double creation of check values to be a bug in most of the generated scripts.
I have reported the bug, it was acknowledged and I am told that someone is working on it.
Back to Top
Ricardo View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ricardo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2010 at 3:05pm
Thank you. Indeed, this issue was confirmed using Firebird, and we are working to fix it.

--
Ricardo Samila
TMS Software Team
http://www.tmssoftware.com
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down