Web forum is in read-only mode. Login as active registered customer for write access
  Forum Search   New Posts New Posts

Automated way of populating the caption?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Dalton Calford View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dalton Calford Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Automated way of populating the caption?
    Posted: 11 Jun 2012 at 11:26am
I have an existing database that I am trying to put into data modeller. 
The existing field names are fine for working with the database, but on diagrams, they leave alot to be desired.
In the table/column description is a more descriptive name for the entity/attribute and I would like to be able to automatically pull the appropriate text from the description and place it into the caption.

For example, I have a table

A0034B
Which has a description of
Original Entity  Name       :  Product Requirements
Physical Entity Name       :  A0034B
Baseline View                  :  POREQIDEN
Creation Date                  :  Friday,June 8, 2012
Model Style                      :  Physical, 4th NF
Revision                           :  1
 
Notes
............
And every table and column in the database has a description such as the above.
I would like an automated method to pull the Caption from the description.

I was looking at the data model library but from the description, it can only be used to read the data model project, not used to update the project.

Is there any example code available to perform a task like this?
Back to Top
Wagner R. Landgraf View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 2637
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wagner R. Landgraf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2012 at 2:15pm
Unfortunately there is not such direct way to do that, you would have to manually edit the data modeler, or do it in your database first, and then import it.
Back to Top
Simonson Mark View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote Simonson Mark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2012 at 4:43pm
I have the same need and would love to see a feature added to allow captions to be updated in a programmatic manner.
 
I'm inheriting a database with all table prefixed with "tbl" - I'd like to remove this prefix but it seems I have to go through several hundred items by hand. Field names have similar issue.... like to remove leading character from fields like cName, dStart , etc.
 
 
Back to Top
Dalton Calford View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dalton Calford Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2012 at 10:26am
It would be good if we could import the entire database structure including database objects, captions, descriptions, dependencies etc from a spreadsheet that follows a pre-defined format.

It would be best as this would allow us to use our knowledge of the systems to quickly import from our existing databases so that it is easy to use/design/re-factor our legacy systems using this tool.

regards

Dalton
Back to Top
Wagner R. Landgraf View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 2637
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wagner R. Landgraf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2012 at 8:05am
We are considering adding a scripting feature where you would have access to the modeling objects (tables, descriptions, fields, etc.) so you will be able to manipulate the objects. I believe this will fit the needs for both of you and other users?
Back to Top
Dalton Calford View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dalton Calford Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2012 at 9:06am
It would be great - I have been hoping that you might incorporate some of your other products into DataModeller.

A scripting tool would be perfect.

It would be great if you incorporated your plugin framework combined with your diagramming studio so that those of us who purchased those products could design/implement our own diagramming elements/displays with the diagramming tool and load them dynamically.   (I have wanted a legend/info stamp to be able to be placed upon the diagram page for a long time as an example).   

best regards

Dalton




Back to Top
Wagner R. Landgraf View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 2637
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wagner R. Landgraf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2012 at 10:05am
Yes, we will think about ways to customize it. Scripting will probably be included.
Back to Top
Dalton Calford View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Dalton Calford Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2012 at 3:53pm
Scripting/Object Grouping and User Definable Diagram Elements would allow the end user to produce custom diagrams that can be setup to reverse existing products, fully document the design while being able to generate usable code.

This would be a killer combination and closer to the agile development model
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down