Web forum is in read-only mode. Login as active registered customer for write access
  Forum Search   New Posts New Posts

Existing WebApp Won't Run

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Existing WebApp Won't Run
    Posted: 21 Oct 2019 at 10:15am
Hi,

I have something strange going on since installing 1.2.8.0.

When I open the project it reports that a new version 1.2.8.0 is available. I have done a complete uninstall and re-install but remains the same.

When I run the app from within the compiler the compile dialog stays open. It shows a successful compile but of 0 total lines.

When I build the project, I gut the same response of 0 total lines.

There is nothing in the projects TMSWeb folder.

If I create a new application, or compile a demo app all runs fine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Ken
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2019 at 10:25am
What version is reported from Help, About TMS WEB Core in the IDE?
Do you have such problematic project that you can send so we can inspect?
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2019 at 11:09am
The help is reporting 1.2.6.0 but when I go into Tools>Options>TMS Web>Options it is 1.2.8.0.
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2019 at 11:14am
You must still have old BPLs around on your system.
Uninstall.
Verify via IDE, Install components, remove the TMS WEB Core packages.
Scan your hard disk for old packages TMSWEBCorePkgD*.bpl, TMSWEBCorePkgDED*.bpl, TMSWEBCorePkgLib*.bpl and delete all.
Do a new clean install.
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2019 at 11:53am
Thanks. There were old bpl's remaining after uninstalling. I removed these before re-installing and the help about now shows 1.2.8.0 but I still cannot compile or run my existing project - total lines 0 and no output file.
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2019 at 12:20pm
Have noticed something further now. Samples are not running either. If I create a new project and run it, it works but as soon as I save it to disk, it then won't run.
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2019 at 3:43pm
It is unclear what is causing this. We've not heard this problem report before.
Is there something specific to the folder structure where these demos & your project are?
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2019 at 6:10pm
Even if I save the project to a newly created folder d:\XXX it still doesn't do the compilatio.
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Oct 2019 at 11:29am
In TMSWeb Options you are now using $(TMSWebDir) for folders. When I open the file llocation for these folders within your setup they are not found. Nor can I find this variable defined anywhere. Could this be the problem?

I have tried changing this folders to directly point to the underlying folder but unfortunately that makes no difference.

I have the same problem on both my laptop and development pc.
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Oct 2019 at 2:31pm
Do you have an antivirus installed / running?
Are you sure such software doesn't interfere?
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Oct 2019 at 3:13pm
Yes, I disabled it.
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Oct 2019 at 4:16pm
I need more information.
Is under Tools, Options, TMS Web, a valid setting for "Web Compiler". It should point to a DLL.

Can you email such project that isn't running so we can inspect and test this project here?
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Oct 2019 at 6:33pm
The Web Compiler is set as C:\Pair\TMS WEB Core RSXE12\Compiler\libpas2js.dll and the file exists.

I will email a project to you.
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2019 at 5:56pm
Rolling back to 1.2.7.1 made no difference. I did notice that when I did a windows uninstall of 1.2.8.0 that it did not remove the bpl & dcp files. Is it possible that the uninstall is also not removing some other files? I deleted these and all known Web Core folders before doing the install.
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2019 at 8:32pm
Uninstall
Scan your entire hard disk for TMSWEBCorePkgD*.*, TMSWEBCorePkgDED*.*, TMSWEBCorePkgLib*.* and delete all.
Restart your IDE and verify there is no trace of TMS WEB Core anymore, check
-Installed packages
-Tools, Options
-Help, About TMS WEB Core
should ALL be gone.

Delete registry key
HKCU\Software\tmssoftware\TMS WEB Core

After this, do a clean install by running the installer.
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2019 at 9:41am
I have done all of this but still doesn't compile the javascript. I believe it may be to do with the $(TMSWebDir) in the various path settings for TMS Web Core Options. I cannot see the TMSWebDir variable in my environment settings.
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2019 at 11:47am
$(TMSWebDir) value is defined by registry key
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\tmssoftware\TMS WEB Core\InstallDir
This registry key should point to the folder where TMS WEB Core was installed. Check if with what you find in the registry, the paths configured under Tools, Options, TMS Web are correct.
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2019 at 12:29pm
This seems ok although since deleting the registry entry it is only showing web core products, not all the others.


Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 12:26pm
What is in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\tmssoftware\TMS WEB Core\InstallDir ?
Do you see in the folder
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\tmssoftware\TMS WEB Core\InstallDir + \compiler  the file libpas2js.dll?
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 12:49pm
Registry entry for InstallDir is C:\Pair\TMS WEB Core RSXE12 Which is correct.
Entry for Pas2JSCompiler is $(TMSWebDir)\Compiler\libpas2js.dll.
C:\Pair\TMS WEB Core RSXE12\Compiler\libpas2js.dll is correct and file exists.
In TMSWeb Options however, if I click on the ... box for the Web Compiler. It does not open in C:\Pair\TMS WEB Core RSXE12\Compiler folder. Instead it opens the C:\Program Files (x86)\Embarcadero\Studio\20.0\bin folder.



Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Oct 2019 at 8:44am
Do you start Delphi with a Windows user account different from the default one?
If so, you might have to copy the registry settings to the HKCU key of the user with which you start Delphi.
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Oct 2019 at 8:54am
No. Same account and nothing in my setup has changed, that I am aware of. I urgently need to make changes to the web app and am stuck!
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Oct 2019 at 9:49am
Can you please explain to me why, when I create a new project, the javascript compiles and runs correctly but, as soon as I save the project, It does not?
Back to Top
Bruno Fierens View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 8329
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bruno Fierens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Oct 2019 at 9:57am
I cannot explain it, I cannot reproduce this. 
You sent your project and it compiled & run here right-away.
Do you have another machine where you can test this?
Back to Top
Randall Ken View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Post Options Post Options   Quote Randall Ken Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Oct 2019 at 10:02am
Yes, but I am getting the same problem on my laptop. Antivirus and firewall are disabled. The drive that the project is saved to has full access for everyone.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down