Web forum is in read-only mode. Login as active registered customer for write access
  Forum Search   New Posts New Posts

Interbase Support

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Hudson Anthony View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hudson Anthony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Interbase Support
    Posted: 09 Jul 2018 at 5:32am
Does Data Modeller support the creation of Interbase databases?
I don't see Interbase as a selectable option in the list of database types when creating a new database.
If it is supported, which database type should I use? Is there anything special I need to look out for when using that database type?
Thanks
Back to Top
Wagner R. Landgraf View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 2432
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wagner R. Landgraf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2018 at 10:44pm
You can simply use Firebird option, and in the connection dialog, in "Vendor Lib" field, you can type "gds32.dll" so it will use Interbase client instead of Firebird. 
Back to Top
Hudson Anthony View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hudson Anthony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 3:17am
Is it best to use Firebird 2 or Firebird 3?
When I use Firebird 2 or 3 and try to import the resulting created SQL file, it errors on the second table. It seems it will only import a single table.

The error I get is:
EIBNativeException ->[FireDAC][Phys][IB]Dynamic SQL Error
SQL error code = -104
Token unknown - line 9, char 0
CREATE

The generated SQL code is:
CREATE TABLE EventSocialMediaServices (
  EventSocialMediaServicesID INTEGER NOT NULL,
  EventsID INTEGER NOT NULL,
  SocialMediaServicesID INTEGER NOT NULL,
  UpdateText VARCHAR(500),
  CONSTRAINT PrimaryKey6 PRIMARY KEY (EventSocialMediaServicesID)
);

CREATE TABLE Credentials (
  CredentialsID INTEGER NOT NULL,
  Name VARCHAR(50),
  CredUsername VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL,
  CredPassword VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL,
  CONSTRAINT PrimaryKey3 PRIMARY KEY (CredentialsID)
);

Line 9 equates to the second create statement in the generated SQL file.

My code to import the generated SQL file is;
...
TFDQuery.SQL.LoadFromFile(GENERATED_SQL_FILE_NAME);
TFDQuery.ExecSQL;

Am I missing something?

Thanks

Back to Top
Wagner R. Landgraf View Drop Down
TMS Support
TMS Support
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 2432
Post Options Post Options   Quote Wagner R. Landgraf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2018 at 2:06am
I guess this is a FireDac misuse? I'm not FireDAC expert but I'm not sure if TFDQuery can execute multiple SQL statements. Maybe it's worth trying TFDScript? Google brings me this page: http://docwiki.embarcadero.com/RADStudio/Tokyo/en/Executing_SQL_Scripts_(FireDAC)

Back to Top
Hudson Anthony View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hudson Anthony Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jul 2018 at 5:24am
TFDScript solved my issue. I wasn't aware of that component.

Thanks for your assistance and sorry to have wasted your time.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down